TFF…from the eyes of the new girl.

19 Oct

Hello!  My name is Kirstyn Ricker, and I’m the Marketing Director here at the Grand.  If you follow us on Facebook or Twitter, that’s me filling your news feeds with Grand Cinema news, events, and other things I find to be cool.  (If you don’t follow us, please do!)  Read the paper?  I put those ads together.  My job is to get people to learn about, come to, and ultimately love the Grand.   In short, I try to spread the word around Tacoma about all of the great things the Grand has to offer.

So I’m the new girl.  I was hired in June and have since been submerged in all things film.  (Which I LOVE.)  I’m loving it here even more now after the TACOMA FILM FESTIVAL!

As with anything that is unknown, I was a bit nervous about the festival at first. (You know, when you’re the new guy with a bunch of seasoned professionals.)  Putting on an city-wide event of this magnitude is no small undertaking.  With films, events, filmmakers, and just plain old logistics, there are a lot of moving parts!  However, I am proud to announce that with the help of my coworkers, I survived the Tacoma Film Festival… and REALLY enjoyed it!

With amazing programming and coordination by Emily, the planning of sponsorships and spectacular events by Rachel, and the scheduling of much-needed volunteers by Jen, this was the MOST SUCCESSFUL TFF to date!  It’s a huge effort, but the payoff is so gratifying.  It feels great to know that I was able to help bring people to the Tacoma Film Festival and the Grand Cinema to enjoy and celebrate the art of film.  I can’t wait for next year!

And now onto the next awesome Grand event…

Cheers,

Kirstyn

One Response to “TFF…from the eyes of the new girl.”

  1. Warren Dogeagle December 20, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    A suggested “oldie”, if the GC does this now and then: Captain Newman, M.D., without using the modern term of “PTSD”, this is what this 50’s movie is about. Set in WWII at a base and hospital stateside. Gregory Peck, Angie Dickenson, Bobby Darin, Eddie Albert, Tony Curtis, Robert Duvall, etc. Based on the Leo Rosten novel.

Leave a comment